Happy New Year!

Not Quite New Year’s…

So it’s not quite New Year’s, but it’s that weird week that comes after Christmas. My schedule has changed, and I’m a bit off balance. I usually update the blog on Sundays, and that’s a pretty regular thing, but as I said, I’m a bit off. I have work to do, but I’m nearly done with it, and a few days ahead of schedule, it looks like.

But I think it would be a great idea if they made Christmas Week a holiday. I think if more people had time off, they would be a little healthier. There might be time to get stuff done, and also time to just relax.

Ogilvy on Advertising

I plan to do a bunch of stuff on my time off. I’ve always been interested in advertising, and I bought a copy of Ogilvy on Advertising. I’m very pleased with it so far. As someone who would like to write white papers as either a side hustle or full-time, I’ve always been fascinated by magazine ads, great commercials, and eye-catching stuff. I’m working on a portfolio, and decided to do “spec campaigns” focusing on stuff I’d like to try my hand at. One of them is a tourism campaign aimed at Americans to come to China.

If Hitler Had…

Another one is controversial.

I want to get both of them up on my portfolio. I want to have it going by February.

No tornados here, I’m glad to say.

In the meantime, Happy New Year!

So I got sick…

It’s the end of the semester and not surprisingly, I got sick. Just a bit of food poisoning–I think. But it hit quickly, and in class of all occasions. Had to cancel my last class a couple of Fridays ago. But some students got me to the school’s infirmary. I got in right away, got an injection and some meds, then whisked home on an ebike by a student. Thankfully I didn’t have any pressing work that really needed to get done, so I could spend a three-day weekend getting better. And I did

A student also picked up the tab, which was 10.38 RMB, or $1.45 USD. I thanked her and paid her.

Healthcare doesn’t HAVE to be expensive. I repeat: healthcare doesn’t HAVE to be expensive.

My Chinese Healthcare Experience (So Far)

My first year in China wasn’t so great health-wise. I got food poisoning five times, not very far into my working experience. The first day of class, I vomited on one of my students.

So they took me to the doctor. They said I’ve have to go to the hospital, to which I said, “No. I’m an American. I don’t go to the hospital.”

But I went. I advise having a native accompany you. One of the challenging things about China is the language. Each province has its own dialect, which means sometimes people don’t understand each other.

The first hospital didn’t work for some reason or another, so we walked what seemed like five miles (which was probably only a couple of kilometers) to the other one. I was weakening by the minute, and my foreign teacher liaison was 20 feet ahead of me. “Are you okay?” No, I’m NOT okay. I’m DRAINED.

But we got to the right hospital. Doctors are at the hospital, so that’s where you go.

So you’re at this huge hospital, and you line up at a window. I show my passport, and the foreign liaison person and the counter person exchange words. We then go to an ATM-like machine, where I’m supposed to put some money on a card. The card is exclusive to the hospital. So it’s like a pre-payment. Then, you go to the first department for treatment. You get there and check in. The card is scanned for payment. Then you get seen, and a diagnosis for treatment is made. I had to go on to somewhere else, I think. The next office, Through the foreign teacher liaison, it was communicated what was wrong. I had a tube stuck up my nose. Bronchitis, I think it was.

So then we went to the pharmacy. I produced my little prepaid card, and got the meds. After that I went home. I stopped off at a little store, because by then, I actually wanted something to eat, and had some delicious chocolate ice cream. I took my meds and went to bed.

How much did it cost me? That was years ago, and I can’t remember much. But it didn’t bankrupt me. Maybe $100 or $200.

This last time I got sick, it was after an incredibly stressful time in my life. I was desperately trying to get a stay visa, because my residence visa was running out. My work permit for my new job apparently required a health screening. I didn’t have a current one, so I hurried up and got one and sent the results minutes after the tests went through. Meanwhile, I tried to get a stay permit, but my old school refused to give me one. Somehow, a call from the entry/exit bureau to my old school did the trick, and I got the necessary paperwork. I was literally 16 hours away from boarding a flight to Thailand, because if I stayed past my expiration date, I’d be in trouble, and fined. Read more about it HERE.

Anyway, after I submitted the papers to the entry exit/bureau and I knew I wouldn’t have to leave the country, I laid down in the bureau and took deep breaths for five minutes. I needed to relax so I decided to go swimming that night.

The pool that I usually go to in Xiamen was fairly clean. But that day, I noticed it was rather cloudy. A day or so later, I picked up what I thought was a cold, but it was some sort of bizarre infection. How bizarre? We’re talking SLIME oozing out of my left eye, then my right eye. I went to the little private expat clinic in and paid around $252 USD for tests and meds. The clinic is very pleasant, very western-looking, with an English-speaking staff. I spent the rest of my weeks in Xiamen, lying around the house, trying to get rid of stuff and pack. It was NOT fun. I was a little worried (I was between jobs) but whatever. It was awful but I got better.

Then, just after I moved to the new city, I noticed that the downstairs wasn’t feeling right. Since I was new in town, I didn’t know if there was an expat clinic, so I hopped on the high-speed rail (tickets to Xiamen run around $21 USD or so) and went back to my little private clinic. Turns out it was a UTI and a yeast infection. I still hadn’t been paid yet, but I want to say between tests and meds, it ran around $100.

One thing I want to say about Chinese healthcare is they frown on medicine. They have it, but one of the times when I had bronchitis or whatever, I don’t feel they prescribed enough antibiotics. Fortunately, you can buy them over the counter here. So I got the foreign teacher liaison here to come with me to a pharmacy. I bought two boxes. The liaison thought that was too much, but I insisted. I spent the rest of that month without missing another day of work, going home and night and resting. Weekends I stayed in bed. But the phlegm was epic. Just a day and a half after I’d taken the meds, I had epic strands of snot running out of my nose.

But whether I went to a private clinic, or the hospital, I wasn’t bankrupted. Prompt, same-day care and I didn’t have to wait hours and hours.

Holy Shit, Luigi!

Put in a 14-hour day today (not sure where the energy came from, but thanks!) so I don’t have the energy to go into writing a long post. But shit, wasn’t expecting this. And I’m not so sure it’s over, either. You BET I’ll be writing more about this! Stay tuned!

Delay, Deny, Depose

I can’t remember what I was doing last Wednesday before I came to school. I realized that someone got shot, but it was the United States. Happens every day. School shootings, neighborhood disputes, arguing over trivia—Americans are too quick to pull the trigger. The Adjuster, whoever the hell he is, showed just how cool he was.

A Rare Pistol

It was rather shocking—we hear about shootings, we don’t usually see people gunned down. We see car crashes after the fact. However, with security cameras everywhere, we’re viewing all sorts of mayhem. This was during daylight hours—barely. I can’t function in the morning, so for me to see something like that carried out at quarter to seven was bizarre. The gun, some sort of assassin’s pistol modeled after a WW2 gun, was an odd-looking thing. Commenters online argued whether or not the guy was a skilled professional. Did the gun jam? Some say it did, others said you have to pull back something or other (obviously not an expert on WW2 era firearms) because the bullets didn’t automatically feed. It’s a bit refreshing in the world of automatic weaponry, a rare pistol was used.

Delay, Deny, Depose

Whether assassin’s gun or veterinary pistol, the symbolism is rich with this one. He uses an obscure firearm, presumably to “depose” someone he considered an animal. I’d heard of the word before, but I looked up “depose” to see if I was right about the meaning.

I was.

The primary definition is to “remove from office suddenly and forcefully”. Thanks Oxford Languages! Supposedly the “delay, deny, depose” refers to a book called Delay, Deny, Defund: Why Insurance Companies Don’t Pay Claims and What You Can Do About It by Jay Feinman, a Rutgers Law Professor. I’m sure this book is selling well again.

The whole case fascinates me for some damn reason. I’m not sure what it is. I don’t know if it’s the killer’s smile, his good taste in backpacks, his intellect the symbolism, or the cool way he gunned someone down in cold blood. It’ like when I walked into a bank on September 11, and watched a portable television set. A bank employee said, “It was a brilliant plan. Evil, but brilliant.”

Not Planned by the Trump assassins…

That’s what this is. I can’t imagine the planning it must have taken. How did the shooter know Thompson would be walking to the meeting instead of staying in the damn hotel? How did someone who had been supposedly receiving threats not get security? How did the killer show his face and he still hasn’t been caught? Is the wife involved? Is it an inside job? Obviously, whoever planned this didn’t have a hand in the Trump assassination attempts.

It’s like a Goddamn movie and I can’t stop watching!

Thank You!

I would like to thank my new subscribers! I know I should be posting every day, and I’m trying to work on that. Thank you so much for reading! Please let me know if there’s something you want me to write about on this blog. And again, thank you for subscribing!

MCU Presents “The Adjuster”

Is anyone else as fascinated with the United Healthcare shooting? I swear it’s like a movie, except it’s actually happening.

Amazing. AMAZING.

And people are cheering. But the reactions of the mainstream media are hilarious. What was the motive? Who could have wanted to kill someone responsible for the deaths of so many people because they were denied care?

Well, DUH.

Listen, I don’t mind people making money. You need money to live on, I get that. But at the expense of peoples’ lives? That’s where it gets shitty. I spoke with someone whose job it was to deny claims and I asked them how they could sleep at night. Their response? “It provides me a good living.”

United Healthcare Profits 2023

Because that’s all you need to know. No matter what you do, as long as it provides a “good living” it’s okay. So go ahead and keep selling drugs, keep selling women’s bodies, keep on keeping being a criminal. It’s okay. As long as you’re making good money.

No one can tell me that United Healthcare profits of 2023 are slim. I’ve looked at three sources (Forbes, Fortune and SEC.gov) and profits are either $16 billion, $22 billion, or $32 billion. Do companies actually NEED that much money?

Because insurance robs us. We pay money to get goods/services. Here’s an example:

Suppose you paid someone to bring you three meals a day: breakfast, lunch and dinner, five days a week. That’s 15 meals a week. I suck at math, so I’m making this easy on myself. Suppose you got your meals Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, but didn’t get your Thursday or Friday meals even though you PAID for them. Wouldn’t you be pissed? They are cheating you out of 40 percent of your meals, which you PAID FOR.

United Healthcare’s rate wasn’t quite at 40 percent, but at 32 percent, it wasn’t too far off.

The News People are Clueless

And the news people, no doubt told by their masters what to say on the air, don’t dare bring up the mess that healthcare insurance has become in the United States. The people aren’t stupid. They know EXACTLY why someone snapped.

It’s hilarious to see these wide-eyed commentators try to get the public to be outraged at this killing. It’s pretty hard to be sorry for someone who denied thousands of people life-saving care (or any care, for that matter) in the name of profits. Plus, he was doing insider training. Ten million dollars a year isn’t enough to live on? That is what is sending people over the edge. People are pushed to the limit and they can’t take much more. Wendell Potter, a former healthcare insurance executive said, “I’m not shocked.” Check out the video—it’s probably one of the few I’ve seen where the journalist actually talks to someone about WHY everyone is so angry.

Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield Got the Message

Think vigilante justice doesn’t work? Just days after Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield announced they would be putting limits on the amount of time anesthesia coverage, they backed down on it. Was it the doctors and nurses who were the catalyst for this decision? Was it the protest of elected officials? It could be, but I think not. The caregivers aren’t necessarily the problem. I think Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield is watching the news and knows the people aren’t happy.

I’m not finished talking about this. More to come.

Vigilante Justice in Action

Rest in Profit, Brian Thompson

As a true crime fan, I’ve become fascinated with the CEO of United Healthcare, Brian Thompson, being gunned down in NYC. Watch the uncensored (except for pixelation of Thompson) security footage here.

I love how the police department is like, “we don’t have any motive.”

Sure you do. Someone who was screwed over by UHC. Which narrows it down to a few million suspects, I guess.

Getaway Car was an E-bike

This case has got me going. The words left on the bullets. The calmness of the gunman. The knowledge involved. And he disappeared in Central Park. On an e-bike.

It reminds me of the Zodiac killing, or D.B. Cooper bailing out of a jet with a bunch of money.

Vigilante Justice is Coming Your Way

What’s hilarious are the comments on YouTube. A lot of people don’t really have any sympathy for the guy. They feel bad for his wife and kids, but that’s about as far as it goes.

It shows how America feels about its health care.

If you’ve got money, you’re fine. But if you are working class or poor, you’re screwed.

If things get bad enough vigilante justice will become the norm.

Don’t worry, I’ve got plenty of popcorn.