I have a cold, but this one is different. It came on quickly.
In China, I’ve noticed my colds come on gradually. I start to feel bad, and the symptoms creep up: exhaustion, headache, a bit of coughing, and sneezing, usually on a daily basis. It’s a four day preview.
Not this time.
It was BOOM Thursday cold, Friday lots of runny nose and congestion. Saturday, more of the same, but not as bad.
I did manage to slog to the pharmacy and get some medicine, then I went for my five years in China celebration dinner, which was fabulous as usual.
I also spent a bunch at Wal-mart. Didn’t really intend to do that, but whatever. Looking forward to a shrimp dinner. Maybe later on day (depending on energy levels) or maybe sometime this week.
So right now, I’m nice and cozy in bed after stepping out for a few things. Living alone in China without a car means grocery shopping sometimes happens a few days a week. Being able to get everything at one store is a bit tough. I can see why people go shopping every day, but I still shop like an American.
Anyway, I’ve got my meds mixed into my tea. Happy Sunday!
P.S. Here’s my five year Chinaversary video, set to Rachel Platten’s “Fight Song.” It’s been a tough road, but I don’t regret coming here. Enjoy! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zzuOqV3DJI
Have no idea what I’m talking about? Check out part one here and part two here.
The Quick Slice–Yet another 90 Day Fiance commentary channel. This is another guy doing the talking, but I like his comments and style. He seems to have clips that I have never seen before. I’m too cheap to pay for a streaming service, but these commentary channels give you all you need to know about these garbage couples. Check out The Quick Slice here.
The Crown–Speaking of garbage couples, this Netflix show highlights (and lowlights) the house of Windsor. The Royal family is just as fucked up as anyone’s family is, they just have PR flacks and the media to deal with in a world where if you are a celebrity, you have no privacy. I respect Queen Elizabeth’s work ethic–they don’t them like her anymore. Her husband bit off more than he could chew, but whatever. Their kids on the other hand? They’ve produced some of Britain’s best drama since Shakespeare. Watch the official trailer here.
TCaP where are they now?–Sex-starved men are hilarious. This Dateline NBC segment hosted by Chris “why don’t you have a seat” Hansen lives on with various commentary channels, especially one by Mista GG which was epic (and I’ve talked about that in an earlier post.) See where these creeps are now by clicking here. The link is for a short video about the guy who needed a shower, but not the “kinda stinky” guy, the other one.
Watch Mojo/Ms Mojo–Not very intellectual channels full of video top ten lists of all sorts of television shows, movies, scenes, and what have you. Watch Watch Mojo here. Ms. Mojo is the female-centric equivalent. Check it out here.
So I wrote something about my five week vacation recently and I received a ton of impressions.
Here’s the post, in its entirety:
If you had a five week vacation, what would you do?
Lots of people would probably not work.
They might set off for distant locations; take that European vacation, or rent an RV and drive around the United States.
None of those were options for me, but I worked.
The difference is, I worked for myself.
I really did feel like I would take it easy this winter break from school. I got a lot accomplished during summer break, but I would do what I wanted this winter break.
But I still got a lot accomplished.
I relaxed, make no mistake about that. I did things on my own time, and frequently my first meals of the day were insanely late. So were lunches. I obeyed my own circadian rhythms, unchained by no alarm clocks for weeks.
And yet, I got a lot done. Housework, reading, writing, watching videos, taking steps toward my professional future, making contacts, exploring, eating good food, getting lots of exercise, and swimming.
It was so satisfying to cross things off my to-do lists.
And my time off is winding down, and I’m gearing up for the next semester.
But I surprised myself on this vacation. I wanted to save money, so I didn’t go anywhere. I’ve learned I can save money by waiting. I might be a bit inconvenienced, but I’ve learned to work with that too.
My way of thinking has shifted too. For the better.
Would it have been awesome to spend five weeks in Hong Kong? Sure.
But my five weeks were awesome anyway because I saw progress, both in myself and my city of Xiamen.
This is the fourth year in a row I wasn’t exactly sure when Chinese New Year’s Eve was. I know there’s no excuse for it.
But New Year’s isn’t exactly happy for me. It’s never been one of my favorite holidays for some reason. I usually spend it at home, cleaning. Even when I was younger and should have been having fun, my friends didn’t want to spring for New Year’s tickets for any of our local venues, and I was too much of a pussy to go alone. And my friends didn’t really throw parties. New Year’s Eve was cleaning day.
So I decided to go out New Year’s Eve—the western one. I figured the night would be uneventful without crowds, but boy I was wrong. I went to Zhongshan Road, where thousands of other people decided to go to.
And it was nice. People seemed in a good mood, the stores were open, and a big screen showed the countdown. I got teary-eyed. I usually do, hoping that the new year would actually be new and better.
But getting home that night was a multi-hour ask. The subways shut down at 12:30 a.m. Because of that, I couldn’t get a Didi (Chinese Uber) until around 4:30 a.m. I’d walked and walked, and thought I might attempt walking home. Then, I thought I’d just walk a few hours and call a Didi.I had the added thrill of wondering if my cell phone battery and power bank would last long enough to eventually summon a Didi. And it did.
But it was nice to see that even at a super late hour, people were still up. I was surprised that people were celebrating western New Year’s. And it was nice.
I’d been off a few weeks for winter break, so my calendar was off. There was even one week where I wasn’t quite sure what day it was. I keep a journal, but somehow I’d lost a day. But soon I was back on track. I’d expected I wouldn’t do much over my break. I was exhausted from the previous semester, but only five days in, I was starting to work on stuff.
Cleaning my apartment was one of the several things I wanted to accomplish. A little at a time, I was getting stuff done. I bought planners, one for school, one for personal matters. I got into the habit of writing things down that I needed to do, then checking them off when I was done. I also had my trusty list which I filled with tasks large and small. It kept me motivated. And I ended up doing a lot more than I thought I would.
So Chinese New Year caught me by surprise. I had stayed home a good part of the week, and decided to go out shopping Friday for more cleaning supplies and some groceries. I was in one store, dubbed “Store of Weirdness” (see video here) to look for a decent scraper for my stove and range hood. I was approached by a employee, and I couldn’t understand what she was saying, but then I noticed the shutters in the front pulled down. Ooops! They were closing I guess. So I apologized and went to the front and paid. I went to the grocery store to get fancy lettuce and blue cheese to make an apple pecan chicken salad. I was about to leave when I thought I should see if they had Granny Smith apples. They aren’t a popular apple here in China, but wonder of wonders, they did. YAAAAAAS! I had pecans at home. Not sure how edible they would be, but even if they weren’t, there was a store downstairs that carried them. But I noticed Olé was closing early too. I thought I’d stop by Subway to get a sandwich, because I’d barely eaten all day.
But I was too late. Robinson’s Galleria front doors were locked. And it dawned on me that this was probably Chinese New Year’s Eve. I hoped the trains would still be running. They were, so I went home. I walked home from the subway station on a deserted sidewalk.
I felt comfortable with what I’d accomplished this past week, and today. I got nearly everything on my list. Time to relax. So Chinese New Year’s Eve was spent binging the first season of The Handmaid’s Tale. The explosion of fireworks at midnight reminded me it was the Year of the Dragon.
Maybe next year I’d remember. I looked it up just to be sure. Tuesday, January 28. Maybe I’d go somewhere to see a fireworks display in person, instead of watching from my balcony.
The last blog post was a little longer than normal, and so will this one, probably. Here are a few more YouTube channels that I enjoy.
90 Day Dumpster Fire
90 Day DumpsterFire: There are several videos on this channel, and they have a theme. They mostly concentrate on 90 Day Fiancé, but some of them also cover other subjects, like 2010 television moments. These clips range from 5 to 15 minutes covering the stars of 90 DF, studded with hilarious edits. There’s a 90 DF “villains” video, creepiest men, scenes that live rent-free in the creator’s head, and so forth. If you’re a 90 Day Fiancé fan, you’ll love this channel. This is another channel I fall asleep to.
Arthur TV
Arthur TV: Arthur is a nice young chap from England who offers some very spot-on interpretations of the 90 Day Fiancé nuts. It’s refreshing to see content creators who have a better sense of what a good relationship is than the idiots on the show who are twice Arthur’s age. Arthur covers entire episodes of several couples. He has a very pleasant voice and it’s nice to hear his armchair psychiatrist analysis of why these people act the way they do, and why the relationships don’t work. Check out Arthur’s channel.
Your Wet Sock
Your Wet Sock: Las Vegas native Nick also offers a great insight to 90 Day Fiancé “actors” and calls them out on their bullshit with hilarious edits. Like Arthur TV, Nick has great delivery. Even if you have never seen a single episode of this show, Nick and Arthur give a brief rundown of each couple, so you get a sense of who these idiots are. And this show makes me glad I’m single. Nick gives out good vibes, even if sometimes says something his fans don’t like. He, like Arthur, has a good head on his shoulders for being young, and you get the sense they wouldn’t make the mistakes people twice his age are making for the world to laugh over and make content about. Check YWS out here.
Sixteen Leo
Sixteen Leo: Based in Australia, Sixteen Leo keeps it real. Originally from South Africa, he offers another international perspective about the show, and frequently calls out Shaun Robinson, a favorite target for the previous content creators I’ve mentioned. One regular criticism of Shaun is always sticking up for the American half of the couple, and not giving the foreign have time to talk, or not wanting to hear about whatever problem is going on. He, like YWS, punctuates his videos with funny edits, sound effects and visuals. Check out Sixteen Leo here.
The Quick Slice
The Quick Slice: Another 90 Day Fiancé content creator. His videos always leave me wanting more. I’ve only recently discovered TQS because I’ve watched Arthur TV, YWS and Sixteen Leo so much, I’ve been wanting fresh content. Maybe TQS isn’t exactly fresh content, because I happen to like the classic 90 Day couples, but I’m hopeful to see some new commentary on a familiar couple I’ve already seen on the other channels. TQS is still very worth checking out if you’re a 90 Day Fiancé junkie like me.
Missed the first part of this series? Check out my first post on YouTube creators I like here.
No, this isn’t the end of it. I have more channels I want to talk about, and you’ll see that next week.
I’m in China trying to save money, so I don’t have streaming services. I have internet, and occasionally I buy something on Google Play (only to be disappointed, most of the time), so I rely on YouTube for entertainment.
What!? I thought YouTube was banned in China?
It is, with a host of other sites, but one can get around that. And lots of Chinese do, along with expats. Don’t believe everything that you hear, kids.
That being said, here are a few channels I’ve come across that have some mind-bending, hilarious, as well as horrifying stuff. Don’t say I didn’t warn ya.
Chris Chan–83 Episodes and Counting
Chris Chan: A Comprehensive History—Oh. My. God. Do you want to know what happens when you don’t fully address your child’s mental health and cognitive functioning issues because you’re too old/tired/abusive to do so? Check out this insane, horrifying, fascinating and heart-breaking documentary, which makes Ken Burns and Bud Greenspan look like the laziest storytellers in history. I stumbled on this gem a couple days ago. I have several weeks of vacation from school, which is great considering there are 83 segments to this (approximately 40 minutes long) and I haven’t even gotten to episode 30 yet. At the same time, binging this entire series may destroy me. Yet, I can’t stop watching. It’s on channel GenoSamuel2.1.
She’s Just Like You and Me, but She’s Homeless…
Girls Sleeping Rough—Another documentary series, but this wasn’t nearly long enough. The BBC III series stopped after three seasons for some reason. The show follows a handful of homeless women and their partners in the Brighton, England area. We get to know Kelly, an aspiring singer, Charlotte and Lance, who are expecting a baby, Becky, recently homeless, Susie and Arna, who comfort each other by a shop window, Maria and Tony, heroin addicts, and several others who are trying to get back on their feet. Viewers might be infuriated by Ocean, who seems to be throwing away chance after chance, and heartbroken by Paige, whose child was forced into adoption. This series is on the BBC III channel, and also a channel called theworkprogramme.
Why Don’t You Have a Seat?
The Predator Chronicles—If you loved Dateline’s series on sexually desperate and dumb men, you’ll absolutely LOVE Mista GG’s take on this. He picks apart each segment and pokes fun at both Chris Hansen, the decoys, and the predators. The edits he adds in are gold. Someday, I hope to be as good at editing as this guy is. A regular feature of his dissection of derelects is the “Pedo Mix”, a seminal (sorry) song combining sound bites and clips over original music. Hilarious and horrifying, just the way I like it. Recently, Mista GG combined ALL the episodes for a seven-hour marathon of masculinity gone mad. I frequently go to sleep with this playing. Find it on Mista G Dubs.
I’m Ready for my Glamour Shots!
Love makeup and movies? Jaime French is your bitch. Her “If Beauty YouTubers Had Existed in 1987” is a blast from the past. She NAILS the 80s look from huge hair, to blue eye shadow, topping off the video with a shoot from Glamour Shots and a few lyrics from Cyndi Lauper. She nails a few other decades as well. I like her brand of humor. And why not? She’s a Midwestern gal like me. Don’t miss her alter ego “Tammy.” Don’t be fooled by imitations! Relive Rave hair spray and Lee Press Ons at Jaime French.
Shameless Self-Promotion!
I have more channels that I watch, but I’m going to save them for future blog posts. So stay tuned. You can check out my lame ass channel at NowayLaowai. The swim cap video is the funniest clip I have, with the Chinese lesson a close second. And NONE of this was scripted!
Just found out I have a couple of new subscribers to the blog! Thanks, and welcome!
I try to post on Sundays. I had computer problems this fall, and that didn’t help at all with updating. I’m thinking when I have extra time, I’ll post on a daily basis, and when I don’t, I’ll post on a weekly basis.
I’m also considering posting on a daily basis with diary excerpts from the past five years. I’ve been doing some cleaning, and thought I could look back five years ago with a diary post dated from 2019. That means I’d have something to write about. But that doesn’t mean it would be particularly interesting. I want to feel that stopping by my blog is time well spent.
Also, what would YOU like to see more of on the blog? Money-saving tips in China? Food experiences? More store reviews? Believe, me, there’s a LOT I’d like to talk about, but I’m saving those things for the memoir! Let me know!
A short while ago, I had a sty in my eye. Normally, when I have had them, they’re small but tough blisters on my eyelid. I scrape them with a toothpick and they’re gone.
Not this one.
This one lingered and went into my upper eyelid. I had drops and it finally went away. But not without some really bad pain. One night, when I squeezed my upper eyelid, I was rewarded with some of the worst eye pain I’ve ever had. I was convinced there was something in my eye. The mother of all eyelashes maybe.
That “something” turned out to be a tiny glob of skin from the blister I’d popped. The skin was trapped between my eyelid and eyeball, and I fished it out with a cotton swab. I took a photo. It was small, yet big enough to be agonizing.
Imagine THIS being trapped between your upper eyelid and eyeball!
I was glad it went away, but not happy with having to repurchase eye makeup. It’s one of the reasons I try not to spend a lot of money on mascara, eyeliner and shadow. Because… WHAT IF?
So I went makeup shopping. And it was disappointing.
Back home, I’d just go into Ulta when I wanted something. Their clearance racks are legendary, and NYX has become my go-to brand. Urban Decay had a shadow called “Lounge” that was game-changing.
Here, things are a little different. I’m exposed to a lot of brands, many of which I can’t afford. Dior. Chanel. Tom Ford.
Which is why I was thrilled to discover Wow Colour, and The Colorist. Back in the day (five years ago or so) I walked into Wow Color and nearly fainted. Imagine a store with literally dozens of different makeup brands, some known, some obscure, plus a bunch of beauty tools. Add in a place for bored boyfriends to hang out, and you’ve got the gist of these stores.
Shopping bags from the stores that originally won my heart.
I LOVED them. They also carried a tiny selection of some more expensive brands (samples, mostly) but they seemed to have it all. Except for one thing. The eye shadow seemed the same.
It didn’t matter what brand it was, it seemed like every single eye shadow palette featured warm pinks, peaches and browns, with some orange thrown in. Blushes tended to be warm, as well, and sometimes neon pink. The eyeliners featured a huuuuuuuge (sarcasm) range of brown to black. And for a long time I was baffled.
Then, it hit me. It was because basically everyone looks the same. I know it sounds mean, but it’s rare that you see a young person with blonde hair, or anything other than black/brown hair. And for the girls, it will be in a ponytail. Add in similar skin color, and it’s obvious I’m not in Kansas anymore. Or Toronto. I’m sure that I was Wow Colour and The Colorist’s oldest customer; a quick glance around the store and I was the only foreigner as well. But I didn’t care. Let the older Asian women go to Carslan and SKII. I wanted a bargain.
Alas, that was before.
Years ago, seemed like both shops carried American as well as Asian brands, one had Wet and Wild, the other had L.A. Colors. I found a Wet and Wild palette with ten colors that were actually differemt. They had a couple shades of green that were great, and a sparkly brown. I should have taken a picture of it before I threw it away, because I don’t think they make that palette anymore. It also had some lighter shades as well. But not wanting to risk another infection, I threw out all my eye makeup, and the brushes. I even threw out my recent Make Up For Ever eyeliners, which I’d had for less than four months. That hurt. It’s not like they’re $5 apiece.
So I replaced everything, but I had to go to four stores. And as for eye shadow, I had to get that online. Sephora, MAC, KKV and Make Up For Ever just weren’t cutting it. And “Lounge” is nowhere to be found.
Another annoying thing about the more upscale stores is that you look around and think, “geez, this is a lot of makeup.” On closer inspection, you see the displays tend to repeat themselves. Every time you think you’ve found a new collection of eyeliners, you realize it’s the same stuff you first looked at when you walked in the store.
And why didn’t I go to Wow Colour and The Colorist you may ask? Well, I did. But they’ve shifted their focus to more skin care than makeup. The makeup brands hardly feature any western names at all. And Foccalure, which actually had purple eye shadow at one time, vanished. I remember their eye shadow display boasting a 16 square-foot assortment of eyeshadows that nearly made me gasp. They were individual colors, which I like because you can put together your own collection, instead of having to buy the palette for the one color you want, and wonder how you’re going to use the rest of them.
Even going to KKV, which fascinated me when I first discovered it a few months ago, wasn’t very impressive for their makeup selection either.
As for blush, I’m not out of that. But because I just can’t seem to find what I want, I used a Kiss Me lipstick as cream blush, and it works. It’s the right color, a cool, deep pink instead of the neon girly pink I seem to see a lot of.
You also may ask, “why didn’t you check out Walmart?” Are you sitting down? You sure? Because here’s why:
Walmart does NOT have a cosmetics section.
I’ll repeat:
Walmart does NOT have a cosmetics section.
Some Walmarts may have an in-store kiosk dedicated to L’Oreal or Maybelline. But mostly, it seems that the Walmarts (always located in a mall, I’ve not seen stand-alone Walmarts here) usually have makeup kiosks meters away from their mall entrances. But the stores themselves devote what would normally be the makeup aisles to skin care. I loathe Walmart, but when I get back to the states, I might just go to one and drift around the makeup aisles and soak in all the fabulousness. Then, I’ll go to Ulta. God knows what I’ll do there.
The eye shadow palette (“Jean Miss”) arrived today, along with a set of mini brushes and eyelash comb (in package on top of eye shadow). The rest is my haul from Wow Color, KKV, and Make Up For Ever (I got the powder for free).
I’ve been plagued with computer problems this past semester. This thing is only around two years old, but in tech speak, I guess it’s ancient, right? I don’t know. I’m of the generation that expects stuff to last, but this thing has been giving me problems almost since day one. Internet connectivity issues, wacky keyboard, cords not charging (I think I’ve been through six cords now) and it was literally falling apart. Something to do with the hinges. Arrrgh.
Poverty is Depressing
If you’re wondering if I’m still on my money “diet” I would say yes. It’s not as intense as it was this summer, but having regular paychecks coming in helps. But restraining my spending HAS worked. However, talking about my poverty is very depressing. I could cut out eating out altogether. I SHOULD. It would be more money in the bank. But I’ve got to eat, right? And with my favorite Mexican restaurant in Xiamen closed (the owner claims it’s coming back, but I’ll believe it when I see it) I’ve been sticking to fast food type places.
Rice to Meet You
Speaking of food, I discovered a fried rice place near the uni. You’d think that living in China, I’d have plenty of places to eat fried rice. However, I’m cursing them. As soon as I find a place with fried rice the way I want it to taste, the restaurant closes. So far, there’s been three places that have had good fried rice, reminiscent of Chen’s Restaurant for you old school Fort Wayne types. That’s where I developed my love of Chinese food; that wonderful place barely a mile from my home. My family ate there several times and got takeout a couple times a month if not more. But here, the place near my first apartment here in Xiamen closed, the place a couple doors down from it (not as good, it was a bit too oily) closed, and Xiao Tan Li, which I think translates to “Little Fields” closed as well. It’s enough to make me wish Panda Express would open up near my place.
The Hawaii of China
Tomorrow will mark two consecutive years in Xiamen. It’s scary how fast time flies anymore. But it was a welcome return to my first city in China. It reminds me of home in a way, the laid-back friendliness of Xiamenians. Beijing was polite but formal (and a bit too big) Guangzhou had great food, but the people had a weird way of grunting at you when you said “thank you.” Xiamen is home away from home. Only a lot prettier. Richard Nixon himself called Xiamen the “Hawaii of China.” I’ve never been to Hawaii, but if it’s like living in a garden, then I can see why Nixon said it.
STYmied!
I have had an epic sty in my eye for about a couple weeks. I’ve had them before, but usually a good scrape with a toothpick destroys them. Not this one. It stayed in my upper eyelid. I gave it a good squeeze one night. PAIN CITY! I was positive something was in my eye—felt like the eyelash to end all eyelashes. So I got my magnifying mirror and saw something white. I got a Q-Tip and fished out skin. Yes, skin. Trapped between my eyeball and eyelid was a wad of skin that had no business being there. At least my eye stopped hurting once I got it out. But damn!
Insomnia and Unrequited Love
I’ve been having problems sleeping, so when I DO sleep, it’s great. Problem is, sometimes I have bad/vaguely disturbing dreams about people from my past. For a while, I dreamed my parents were alive and building a huge house. My parents never really had money that I can remember, so in my dreams I always wonder where the money is coming from. Other times I dream about men from my past. As the Queen of Unrequited Love, I’ve had really, really bad luck with men. So dreaming about these guys is unpleasant. It made me wonder about a former crush, so I looked for him online to find out his name was linked with a guy’s name for a marriage license. It didn’t exactly make me feel better. Straight or gay, men don’t like me. It was a weird situation. In eighth grade, I found him annoying. When he finally made it to my high school, I thought he was cute. Rejection city. I remember saying something to him I shouldn’t have, so it wouldn’t be a good idea to reach out to him.
Triggering the Triggered
I may elaborate on one of these topics in the future. Maybe I can get back to posting on a regular basis. But sometimes it’s just nice to not report on anything. It seems like whenever I say something anymore, it pisses people off anyway. At least the ones who are listening, or claim to be.
You must be logged in to post a comment.